This won’t be a very long post, since I just got my first round of textbooks in (my ambivalence to this is overwhelming) and I need to do some academic catch-up this week. However, I also just got in another book that, in all honesty, I’m probably going to read first. It’s called Permission to Speak Freely: Essays and Art on Fear, Confession, and Grace. It’s basically PostSecret for the Church. I’m very excited about this, mainly because I forgot that I ordered it and so getting it was a very nice surprise.

The premise is that the author/editor asked a question on her blog, and then turned the responses she received from her readers into a book. What is one thing you feel you can’t say in the church? The responses came in the form of poems, stories, and art, and from what I’ve browsed so far, are fascinating. I can’t wait to get through this book, and trust me: when I do, I will have a review up. Until then, check out the book’s website, which, like PostSecret, has some of the submissions posted online.

