I promise. And I consider myself to be a chocolate chip cookie connoisseur, so I feel like I can speak with some authority on this.

 

I am bringing you this recipe by way of my cousin Shanlie and her blog, The Crafty Bandita, which is definitely worth your time. Chad and I had dinner with Shanlie and her husband last night, which I always love. They had burgers  (Chad swears they were some of the most delicious burgers he’s ever had) and I had a crabcake sandwich that will change your life. It was seriously one of the most delicious things I’ve ever concocted (not that putting two crabcakes on a hamburger bun requires a lot of creativity), and I’m craving one right now. *Sigh*.

 

But the piece de resistance (imagine that I inserted the appropriate accents there) was these cookies. (Were these cookies? Was? Were? I don’t know.) This is a completely made-from-scratch recipe, but please don’t let that intimidate you, because I honestly believe this is that elusive “perfect cookie” recipe I’ve been searching for. They are soft, and not at all too crunchy or crispy (I hate crunchy cookies), and the chocolate chips complement the vanilla in the dough perfectly. I can’t do these cookies any more justice with words, so here’s the recipe, and please promise me you’ll use it.

-Preheat oven at 375 degrees
-Cream (or mix with a mixer until ‘whipped’) 

1/4 + 2 tbsp cup dark brown sugar 
1/4 + 2 tbsp cup granulated sugar
and 
½ cup (one stick) butter (softened)
-Add remaining ingredients, which are

1 egg (beaten)
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/8 cup flour
½ tsp salt
½ tsp baking soda in one tbsp hot water

chocolate chips (I use about 3/4 of a bag of Ghirardelli  60% Cocoa chips)
-Bake for about 8 minutes

 

(She did one batch just like that, and then she sprinkled sea salt on the second batch. Both were fantastic, and are great options). Thanks again, Shanlie! 🙂

 

