52 weeks.

8,760 hours.

525,600 minutes.

31,536,000 seconds.

One year.

Our wedding day was everything I could have ever hoped for. Surrounded by our friends and family, Chad and I exchanged vows of love and partnership at one of the most beautiful places in our hometown, on one of the most beautiful days of my favorite season. We were surrounded by love and support, and the excitement that everyone felt for us was electric.

And if our ceremony was sentimental and full of love, the reception was a full-blown party. We ate, we drank, we danced, we sang, we laughed, and we celebrated. I keep thinking to myself how we should throw a party like that once a year, even if there’s no occasion, just because everyone should be able to have that much fun on a regular basis. I believe these pictures speak for themselves 😉

 

 

 

 

 

I know this is overused to the point of being cliche, but I really cannot believe it’s been a whole year since Chad and I got married. It feels like it’s been a thousand lifetimes, and yet it also feels like yesterday. It hasn’t all been smooth sailing, but the challenges we’ve faced seem so insignificant, especially compared to the complete joy that we’ve shared. Again, cliche, I know. But I can’t help it if the reality of my marriage has been more like a Hollywood plot than anything else.

I want to take this opportunity to thank Chad for everything that he has done for, and meant to, me in the past year. I couldn’t possibly mention everything in this blog post, but I’m going to try my best 🙂

  • Thank you for being crazy enough to road trip with Brooke and me to Washington D.C. just so we could be a part of the Rally to Restore Sanity/Fear. Also, thank you for splitting the driving mostly between you and Brooke, so I could sleep.
  • Thank you for encouraging me to study abroad this summer, even though we both knew it would push back our plans of traveling abroad together (luckily, we ended up being wrong!)
  • Thank you for supporting me through every single career/major change I’ve subjected you to, and for having more faith in my strength than I often did.
  •  Thank you for loving me through the crazy (and I really mean crazy) times, knowing they were only temporary.
  • Thank you for never yelling at me, hitting me, or abusing me in any way (I know this seems like it should go without saying, but in a world where one in four women are the victims of domestic violence in their lifetime, I am beyond grateful for a partner that I can trust with my body and emotions)
  • Thank you for being interested in the things that interest me, or at least being better at faking interest than I am.
  • Thank you for letting me rant and rave about things that infuriate me about the world, even though you’ve heard everything I can come up with a thousand times before.
  • Thank you for being weird and silly with me, and not thinking there’s anything weird or silly about it.
  • Thank you for looking straight into my eyes, when I’m in a t-shirt and sweatpants, with no makeup and messy hair, and telling me I’m beautiful. And thank you for being so earnest that I can believe you, despite everything society tells me to believe about beauty.
  • Thank you for not being afraid of housework. Actually, thank you for being more willing to do the housework than I am, even after you’ve already put in a long day at work-work. It’s nice to be married to a man who doesn’t consider the kitchen, laundry room, or bathroom to be a woman’s domain.
  • Thank you for buying me three types of chocolate when I’m wracked with hormonal tears and you can’t remember which kind I like.
  • Thank you for planning surprises for me. The small ones brighten up my normal day, and the big ones are the foundations for so many of my favorite memories with you.

Thank you for loving me.

 

I’m sure that there are a million more things I should thank you for, and I’ll probably remember half of them as soon as I publish this post. But let me wrap up everything I didn’t say in an I love you more than I could ever express. That’s the best I can do. I hope to spend many, many more years with you, and I look forward to every second we have left together. I honestly could not have asked for a better partner, in every sense of the word.

In that book which is
My memory . . .
On the first page
That is the chapter when
I first met you
Appear the words . . .
Here begins a new life

– Dante Alighieri

