Tags

, ,

I’ve never been very good at fasting, mostly because I have the self control of a two year old. But this morning, I found a website that has inspired me to do something very small for Lent, in order to do something very big for Lent.

It’s called 40 Days of Water, and the idea is that you give up every type of drink but water for Lent. You then track what you would have drank on their website and how much it would have cost you (for example, this morning I entered the a $2 coffee that I gave up- *yawn*!). At the end of Lent, you then take the money you saved by not buying all those drinks and donate it to clean water projects in Uganda.

I love this because it’s a way to make my fast for Lent have a meaningful impact on the world, and I feel like that will make my own sacrifices more spiritually significant. I don’t know about you, but I’ve found it difficult to stay focused on Lent in the past, mostly because, when I’m the sole benficiary of my fast, I can usually justify putting it aside for one reason or another. I can’t very well do that here. This is also completely do-able, but it will also be challenging enough to push me spiritually.

I know it’s the first day of Lent, and many of you have probably already started thinking about what you’re going to give up, if you’re going to give up anything at all. If you are still up in the air, or you’re open to changing your plan, OR if you’re just curious and would consider doing it next year, here’s the website for the project.

This is the kind of fast day I’m after:
   to break the chains of injustice,
   get rid of exploitation in the workplace,
   free the oppressed,
   cancel debts.
What I’m interested in seeing you do is:
   sharing your food with the hungry,
   inviting the homeless poor into your homes,
   putting clothes on the shivering ill-clad,
   being available to your own families.
Do this and the lights will turn on,
   and your lives will turn around at once.
Your righteousness will pave your way.
   The God of glory will secure your passage.
Then when you pray, God will answer.
   You’ll call out for help and I’ll say, ‘Here I am.’
Isaiah 58: 6-7 (the Message)

