I’ve noticed that my last few posts have been rather… despondent. And I’m actually not a very despondent person (for the most part). Occasionally brooding, often paranoid, and far too prone to anxiety. But I’m actually a very happy person most of the time, and I have every reason to be.

So I felt like doing a little post on some of the more beautiful aspects of my life. Because my life has been very beautiful lately, and I need to recognize that. Not in a bipolar-swing-towards-a-manic-appreciation-of-life sort of way (although I experience those as well), but in a sober reminder that I shouldn’t just dwell on the problems in my mind when I am surrounded by brilliance.

I have a husband who has stood by me this year and encouraged my dreams even when they didn’t help pay the bills. (And so much more that is too emotionally intimate for me to share on the internet.)

I have friends that I wouldn’t trade for the world. I could never say how much they mean to me.

I have a family that loves me, and a grandmother who values my heritage so much that she’s sending Chad and me to Israel next year to experience it firsthand. (I still can’t wrap my mind around the awesomeness that is the truth of that last sentence.)

I have a job that lets me help children by doing what I love. Bonus points for experience in stretching a budget, and for the work week that is forcing me to develop a work ethic that I had heretofore never needed to develop. I’m going to appreciate these 12-hour days when I have papers to write in grad school.

I don’t want it to seem like I’m bragging. I also know that this isn’t the first “how awesome is my life” post I’ve done. But I feel like I’ve been rather down on myself lately, and it’s helpful to step back and reflect on how lovely life is, even when it feels like it’s anything but.

I’m tired, because I’ve been teaching and swimming all day. But it’s a good tired- the sort of tired that comes from knowing your day was well spent. And rather than focus on the part where I want to collapse with exhaustion into bed, I’m going to focus on the part where I get to spend all day teaching and playing around with kids who are awesome. And then I’ll end with this nice encouragement from Reassuring Manatee.

Goodnight, lovelies.

