Tags

, , ,

I love talking Sociology with people, and right now, Chad is my most willing audience. So on the way to lunch this afternoon, I decided to teach him all about the concept of social privilege, which is something that has been on my mind a lot lately.

After explaining how social privilege basically influences every part of social life, but it’s almost imperceptible to the people who have the privilege, I expected Chad to need a minute to process the concept, since it’s not an easy concept to grasp at first. He got it right away.

“So, it’s basically like the Silence? It influences everything that people do, but you never know it’s there”.

I was speechless for a good few minutes.

Combining Dr. Who and Sociology, two of my favorite things? Genius.

One more reason why Chad wins all the things.

