Tags

, ,

“Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.”

Interestingly enough, the book that this quote comes from, The Fault in Our Stars, is just that type of book. It was written by John Green, one of the two VlogBrothers, whose Youtube channel is an excellent way to kill several days’ worth of free time if you ever need to.

At one level, the book is about teenagers with cancer, and on a whole other level, it is an endlessly quotable, wonderfully entertaining expose on the human condition, the futility of life, and the heartbreak of love. I don’t want to spoil anything, but this is one of the few books that repeatedly brought me to tears, despite my best efforts to remain emotionally detached (I read most of this book in the presence of other people, and I’m not good at crying unless I’m by myself).

My evangelical zeal for quality literature commands me to recommend this one wholeheartedly. It’s still only available in hardcover, but it’s worth the money.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to try and cope with that emptiness I feel every time I finish a good book.

“I believe the universe wants to be noticed. I think the universe is inprobably biased toward the consciousness, that it rewards intelligence in part because the universe enjoys its elegance being observed. And who am I, living in the middle of history, to tell the universe that it-or my observation of it-is temporary?” – John Green

