I strongly debated whether or not I wanted to touch this issue with a ten-foot pole, and I almost made a different decision.

Gun control.

Whew.

If that’s not a loaded (I swear, no pun intended) topic, I don’t know what is.

And the thing is, this is one of the few political topics (abortion being the other) where I can understand both sides so well that it makes me incapable of choosing one. Also, I know precious little about the issue other than what I’ve learned from my husband and father-in-law, both of whom are card-carrying NRA members.

So this post isn’t going to be about me expounding on my vast knowledge about the subject, and explaining why I’m right and you’re wrong. Because I know when I don’t know enough to make opening my mouth a good idea, and this is one of those times.

Instead, I have some questions for people on both sides of the aisle, and I am hoping my friends can (CIVILLY, PLEASE?) enlighten me. With as much logic, and as many facts and statistics, as possible, because that’s what really gets me going đŸ˜‰

For my pro-stricter-gun-control friends: A common gun-rights argument is that making guns illegal, or harder to get, really only means taking guns from law-abiding citizens and ensuring that the only people armed are the people who were willing to break the law to get the guns in the first place. I hear this argument derided by liberals frequently, but honestly, I’ve never heard an actual counter argument, just comments to the effect of “anyone who believes that is an idiot”, which frankly doesn’t do a whole lot to educate me. Can anybody explain the liberal position on this?

For my anti-stricter-gun-control friends: America is a very violent country, and the gun-related crimes and deaths in America are many, many times higher than they are in any other part of the world. Gun-control supporters have suggested that making guns less accessible would help curb these crime statistics, and while I’m sure you disagree with that solution, I’ve never heard this side of the aisle propose an alternative solution to our violent crime problem. It’s entirely possible I’ve just missed it, so my question is: do you acknowledge that guns are a factor in the crime rate in this country, and if so, what, if any, solutions do you have to helping bring our crime rates down to more closely resemble the rest of the first world?

Like I said, I’m not playing Devil’s Advocate here, I honestly just have questions that I would like answered. And if you’d like to make a comment on the issue that doesn’t directly answer my questions, that’s fine. These are just the two biggest issues I have with both sides.

Just please, be civil. I’m coming to you asking for help and enlightenment, not condescension or anger. That being said, have fun! đŸ™‚

